top of page

A Lil' About Me


Hi there. I’m Chris Athanas, an Austin-based Android Developer. I create and develop beautiful and creative applications which are engaging, interactive, and user friendly. I love collaborating with my passionate clients to build them a custom app that is fully functional and rich with useful features. Look around to learn more about the exciting projects I’ve worked on in the past.

What I Do

I create software solutions that match customers needs. I concentrate on the user's experience and take into account their desires first. I created my first commercial software company DigiEffects by delivering easy to use products that solved motion graphics artist problems.

I am familiar with modern internet technologies as well as being proficient in image processing and user interface design. I'm fluent in most popular languages including: Java, Javascript, C, C++, Python and others. I am very familiar with RESTful API's, JSON, Cordova PhoneGap, MySQL, HTTPS, CSS, HTML, Email and e-commerce solutions. I enjoy creating elegant UX/UI and readable code. And yes, I comment!​​ I have created custom applications that interface with eBay, BigCommerce, FaceBook and Twitter.

I have written successful commercial apps for companies such as Fox TV, National Geographic and Caesars Palace Resorts while working at Chaotic Moon Studios in Austin, TX.

I'm also proficient with Photoshop, Final Cut Pro, After Effects and similar motion graphics and image processing tools.​​ I have worked on several documentary films, including American Drug War, and Ten Planks. I have won an award for my work at Austin Community Access Center, where I had a live call-in TV show for three years.

How I'm Different

I'm not the typical by-the-book programmer. I was primarily self-taught, and have seen the computer industry grow from being involved in the first personal computers. I have owned or used most every popular microcomputer and have seen the immense progression of technology. I have also studied at the university level to get a better grasp of algorithms and engineering techniques. I graduated from the Delta program to refine my development skills for Android.

Still one thing remains the same, the end user experience. I still care about how software is perceived by the customer, as perception is reality. How software looks and feels is just as important to how useful it is. Getting all these balanced is an art that I employ and am constantly seeking to further.

I enjoy working in a team environment, and revel in collaborative efforts. ​​I have a fun sense of humor that is conveyed in my work and attitude.

Maintaining a healthy work/life balance is a priority for me. I am a yoga practitioner for over 18 years, and I find the effort dedicated to a physical and spiritual practice overflows into all areas of my life.​​​ I have come to learn that a good work/life balance makes me more productive, more fun to be around, and a better human being in general.

How I Got Started

I have been programming computers since I was 7 years old. I have always been interested in all aspects of computing, including robotics, user interface design, games, special effects, communications and interactivity. I have worked in several of the early desktop publishing and image processing start-ups. I have seen the evolution of interaction as well as the refinement of the technologies.

I got interested in shareware games and motion graphics​​ tools, and because the motion graphics tools took off, I pursued that market. I created innovative products and successfully targeted marketing which made the business very successful. I eventually sold that company and it is still in business today as DigiEffects.

I then took a semi-retirement and explored yoga, consciousness, the nature of the ego, biking, music festivals, sacred geometry, space travel, drones and independent film production. I am excited to continue to use my skills to create solutions that work well for my clients.

bottom of page